Ireland team to face France in Six Nations finale

Cian Healy warming up before the Ireland v Italy match in 2020 Six Nations Cian Healy will become the sixth Irishman to hit a Test century on Saturday (Brian Lawless/PA Images)

Cian Healy will win his 100th Test cap in an Ireland team showing just one change for Saturday’s Six Nations decider against France in Paris.

Leinster prop Healy will become just the sixth Irishman to hit a Test century at the Stade de France, as Andy Farrell’s men chase a fourth title in seven years.

Robbie Henshaw starts at outside centre in Ireland’s sole change from last weekend’s 50-17 thumping of Italy, the Leinster player stepping in for provincial team-mate Garry Ringrose who is out with a broken jaw.

Munster’s battering-ram centre Chris Farrell takes a seat on the bench after Henshaw’s promotion to the starting XV, as Ireland take on the resurgent French.

An unprecedented bonus-point win over Les Bleus in Paris would hand Ireland another Six Nations crown, and their first under Farrell.

Former boss Joe Schmidt led Ireland to Six Nations glory in 2014, 2015 and 2018, with the last of those triumphs comprising just a third-ever Grand Slam.

Now new boss Farrell has an early chance to add to that legacy, but Ireland must break new ground to realise that aim.

Brian O’Driscoll, Ronan O’Gara, Rory Best, Paul O’Connell and John Hayes are the only Irishmen to reach the 100-cap mark.

Leinster’s 33-year-old bullocking prop Healy will join that illustrious group on Saturday however, where Ireland will be looking to ratchet up the performance levels after last weekend’s facile win over Italy.

Ireland team to play France

Forwards: 1 Cian Healy (Leinster), 2 Rob Herring (Ulster), 3 Andrew Porter (Leinster), 4 Tadhg Beirne (Munster), 5 James Ryan (Leinster), 6 Caelan Doris (Leinster), 7 Will Connors (Leinster), 8 CJ Stander (Munster)

Backs: 9 Conor Murray (Munster), 10 Jonathan Sexton (CAPTAIN, Leinster), 11 Hugo Keenan (Leinster), 12 Bundee Aki (Connacht), 13 Robbie Henshaw (Leinster), 14 Andrew Conway (Munster), 15 Jacob Stockdale (Ulster)

Replacements: 16 Dave Heffernan (Connacht), 17 Ed Byrne (Leinster), 18 Finlay Bealham (Connacht), 19 Ultan Dillane (Connacht), 20 Peter O’Mahony (Munster), 21 Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster), 22 Ross Byrne (Leinster), 23 Chris Farrell (Young Munster)

More Ireland Six Nations Rugby News >