Gregor Townsend forced to make changes as Scotland trio ruled out of Wales clash

Darcy Graham scores a try for Scotland against Wales in 2019 Six Nations Darcy Graham is one of three changes to the Scotland side (Jane Barlow/PA)

Gregor Townsend has been forced into three changes for Scotland’s Six Nations clash against Wales.

Flanker Jamie Ritchie, centre Cameron Redpath and winger Sean Maitland all drop out through injury following last weekend’s memorable victory over England.

Scarlets back-row forward Blade Thomson, Harlequins midfielder James Lang and Edinburgh winger Darcy Graham come into the side for the BT Murrayfield encounter.

All three played in Scotland’s Six Nations win over Wales in October, which was their first away win against their opponents in 18 years.

Head coach Townsend said: “It was a very encouraging performance at Twickenham and the squad performed to a level which has to be the benchmark throughout the tournament.

“Wales are also coming into this game after a win and will have the same objective, so it will be a tough challenge as always.

“Both teams were involved in physical contests last weekend, and that is evidenced by the injuries Wales and we ourselves have picked up.

“For us, we are able to bring in three quality players in Blade, James and Darcy. They have been training well and are highly motivated to make the most of this opportunity.”

Townsend’s bench is unchanged following last Saturday’s 11-6 triumph, Scotland’s first win at Twickenham for 38 years.

Scotland team to play Wales

Forwards: 1 Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh), 2 George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), 3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), 4 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), 5 Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs), 6 Blade Thomson (Scarlets), 7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh), 8 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)

Backs: 9 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), 10 Finn Russell (Racing 92), 11 Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh), 12 James Lang (Harlequins), 13 Chris Harris (Gloucester), 14 Darcy Graham (Edinburgh), 15 Stuart Hogg (CAPTAIN, Exeter Chiefs)

Replacements: 16 David Cherry (Edinburgh), 17 Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors), 18 WP Nel (Edinburgh), 19 Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), 20 Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons), 21 Scott Steele (Harlequins), 22 Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh), 23 Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors)

More Scotland Six Nations Rugby News >