Scotland co-captain Rory Darge returns from injury to face France

Rory Darge on way to Scotland v Italy match in 2023 summer series Rory Darge returns to face France on Saturday (Jane Barlow/PA)

Recently-appointed co-captain Rory Darge will start Saturday’s Six Nations match at home to France following six weeks out with a knee injury.

The 23-year-old Glasgow flanker takes over the number seven jersey from previous skipper Jamie Ritchie, who drops out of the 23 altogether, in one of three changes – all in the forward-line – to the team that started the 27-26 win away to Wales.

Darge, who has recovered quicker than anticipated from an injury sustained away to Edinburgh on the last weekend of December, is listed as co-captain alongside stand-off Finn Russell for the Murrayfield showdown with a French side aiming to bounce back from their chastening 38-17 home defeat by Ireland.

Number eight Jack Dempsey and lock Grant Gilchrist, who was suspended last weekend, return to the side in place of Luke Crosbie and Richie Gray, both of whom picked up tournament-ending injuries in Cardiff.

The backs department is unchanged, meaning Kyle Rowe, who made his first international start in Wales, continues at full-back in the absence of the injured Blair Kinghorn.

On-form Saracens back-rower Andy Christie has been named among the subs after missing out on the 23 last weekend.

Scotland team to play France in Six Nations

Forwards: 1 Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby), 2 George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), 3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), 4 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), 5 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), 6 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), 7 Rory Darge (Co-Captain, Glasgow Warriors), 8 Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors)

Backs: 9 Ben White (Toulon), 10 Finn Russell (Co-Captain, Bath Rugby), 11 Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby), 12 Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors), 13 Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors), 14 Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors), 15 Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Warriors)

Replacements: 16 Ewan Ashman (Edinburgh Rugby), 17 Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), 18 Elliot Millar-Mills (Northampton Saints), 19 Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby), 20 Andy Christie (Saracens), 21 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), 22 Ben Healy (Edinburgh Rugby), 23 Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby)

More Scotland Six Nations Rugby News >